P.S. “Can’t I Just Have a Tiny Book?”

DSC02169

Miss Ruby and Little Davie snuggle in with their “tiny books.” “Davie, how many strawberries did the caterpillar eat before it turned into a butterfly?” “Oh, Ruby, I lost count. I was watching the pearl turn into the moon in Grandfather Twilight.

While working in the bookstore tonight, I witnessed a tantrum. Now, it is not unusual to hear little ones put up a fuss, and it is usually not pleasant to listen to. This, however, had to be the cutest tantrum I have ever heard:

A little girl, about 7 years old, is wailing as she follows her mom who is striding purposefully toward the exit. She sobs, “Can’t I just have a tiny book? They have tiny books!”

What a synchronicity when I have just been writing about tiny books! Now I know that this little girl most likely meant an “inexpensive book” in this situation, but maybe she, too, has a special affinity for small things. And I, for one, hope and wish that little ones will have “tiny books” and big books to their hearts’ content.

Sweet reading, and sweet dreams.

Jennie

Leave a Reply

